Stuff that has happened

Stuff has happened in the last month! Some of it good, some of it pretty crappy, some of it in between. I’m going to resume the ABC cartoon series as soon as I can make wordpress play ball, but in the meantime, this is the stuff that’s happened:

  • I had another crisis and spent 3 weeks back at Drayton Park women’s crisis house. That meant I had managed at home for 5 weeks before being admitted, which is longer than I’d coped since October last year. I’m going to get one of those “x days since last accident” counters to measure the time between admissions (I came home on Wednesday – 5 days and counting):

    20110324-025n
    This woman has worked 5 days without an admission! Avoid admissions!
  • I’ve been working at the Mind charity shop weekly for 2 months, and only missed one day due to anxiety. It makes me sad that this qualifies as an achievement in my life now, but it’s not something I could have done a year ago.
  • Over a year after I was referred to the Personality Disorders service, I finally have both a social worker and a therapist, though I’m still waiting for a place in a therapy group (DBT is meant to be individual sessions & groups once a week). My social worker is possibly more bonkers than I am, but also pretty efficient, and she’s helping me look into moving out of my Mum’s.
  • I’ve started going to Studio Upstairs, an art studio for people with mental health problems, one day a week and I freakin’ love it. It’s hard work being around people and sitting still all day to make stuff, but it’s such a great place. It’s staffed by art therapists so if you need support it’s there, but the staff and volunteers are mostly getting on with their art all day too so it doesn’t feel like there’s the usual divide between functional people providing support and patients/service users. We’re just all people making things. On which note, here are some of the things I’ve made:
    Trying out making a sketchbook, watercolour pencils, acrylics on canvas, chalk pastels & charcoal, & just making big painty messes
    Trying out bookbinding, watercolour pencils, acrylics on canvas, chalk pastels & charcoal, & just making big painty messes

    First page of the sketchbook I made myself
    First page of the sketchbook I made myself
Leave a Reply

